USB-controlled Spectral LED Matrix

Got an idea for a project? Found a cool project you want to share? Post it here!
SSriceboat

USB-controlled Spectral LED Matrix

Post by SSriceboat » Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:15 pm

Hey everyone,

First off, I hope it's cool I put this out here, I really like the activity in this forum and I think you guys can help me elegantly create a solution to a problem I'm having. I'm a novice when it comes to making electronics (especially making pcbs), but I've been getting really into it lately and I'm using raspberry pi's and arduinos for all sorts of random tasks. I have so many project ideas but I want to start with this one.

I want to make a 6 x 6 LED matrix array, (so 36 LEDs) where there are 18 pairs of unique-color LEDs. I've looked into multiplexing the array, so that instead of 36 io pins, I can have 6 anode (to 6 rows) and 6 cathode ports (from 6 columns to GND), which is great, but has 2 issues I can think of:

1. If I want to turn on multiple LEDs at the same time, I cannot have them on at the same time, I have to flash them rapidly, and I don't want to do that, I want the light output of 2 like-LEDs at the same time. RGB LEDs just use red, green, and blue diodes, so they don't actually do what I want.

2. The other dilemma with this idea is that I want to be able to plug this led matrix into my Pi or my PC over USB to control them, but I have no idea how to design a working pcb that uses USB input or anything like that... (if you haven't already, consider me the beginner of all beginners)

So I'm throwing this out to you guys for tips and help on this. How can I design a pcb to control so many different LEDs over a USB cable from a Raspberry Pi (or other similar computer). Thanks for any suggestions, I really appreciate it. I've also attached a crude drawing of what I'm talking about and I hope that helps you think about it.

-SSriceboat
benicetomycircuit.jpg
benicetomycircuit.jpg (841.6 KiB) Viewed 3001 times
--
SSriceboat