I made a thing!

Want to show off your own project? Want to keep a build log of it? Post it here!
MrDralixx

I made a thing!

Post by MrDralixx » Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:37 am

I'm still pretty new to 3D printing and really new to trying to use any of the creation software, so bear with me and my primitive design(s). :)

Like many, I have many projects that are incomplete. One of them being the PiGRRL Zero designed by Adafruit. I had started it using the original case design. (I had to purchase it off of Etsy as I didn't have a printer at the time) I'll admit, I wasn't too keen on it after I got about halfway into it due to not like the lack of audio and/or using a USB audio port if I wanted to hear anything. As usually happens though, someone re-designed their case a bit better and added a sound card, speaker and volume control, which freed up the USB port to be used for other things when needed. (like connecting a keyboard when needed or adding more ROMS via flashdrive)

I now have a printer (2 actually, sorry for the brag) and printing the updated case design was at the top of my "To-Do" list. They finished well enough (still learning to tweak the printers) and when I started assembling, I noticed the same issue the original case design had. There was a gap between the LCD screen and the inside lip of the top case part. A bit of research on this turned out to be due to Adafruit's original design was based on an LCD screen that had foam tape holding the screen to the PCB. Their manufacturer stopped using the foam tape and started using double-sided tape instead. This caused the gap.