Which batteries possible with Adafruit Powerboost?

General GBZ-related chat goes here. Share ideas, tips and tricks, or ask questions that don't fit into the hardware/software help forums.
ReverendP

Which batteries possible with Adafruit Powerboost?

Post by ReverendP » Wed Mar 22, 2017 1:23 pm

Hi everyone,

this is probably a total newbie question, but I want to learn and haven't been able to find an answer so far:
I'm trying to replicate wermy's original build and was wondering about how the Adafruit Powerboost 1000 works with the Pi and the connected battery. More specifically: what defines the properties of the batteries that can be connected to it? Does the Powerboost only accepty one specific type of battery? What do I have to look out for when selecting a battery to power my Gameboy Zero?

For example: Wermy used a 3.7V 2000mAh LiPo battery in his original build. I have thought about using a high capacity replacement battery for a Dualshock 4 (see attached photo, it's nicely contained in a plastic case and quite flat). It is also 3.7V 2000mAh but a Li-ion. Could I use that? If not, where can I find which properties the battery has to have?

Again, I am totally new to this and probably have overlooked something, but I want to make sure I don't fry my GBZ or have it explode in my face.

Thanks for your patience. :D
Attachments
Batterie.jpg
Batterie.jpg (153.5 KiB) Viewed 8754 times

Valadone

Re: Which batteries possible with Adafruit Powerboost?

Post by Valadone » Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:19 pm

You can use every battery pack with JST wiring ( the white part with 2 holes ^^ ).

Just be sure there is a protective circuit on the battery to prevent overvoltage :)

ReverendP

Post by ReverendP » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:16 pm

Thanks. Did the one used by wermy have the protective circuit you mentioned? Or can I add one myself?

ReverendP

Post by ReverendP » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:22 pm