N64 RGB Mod and the OSSC

Got an idea for a project? Found a cool project you want to share? Post it here!
dryja123

N64 RGB Mod and the OSSC

Post by dryja123 » Sat Mar 07, 2020 3:42 pm

Hi Everyone,

Recently, I fell down a rabbit hole when I discovered the OSSC (open source scan converter), RGB modding retro consoles, and the Everdrive. I picked up an Nintendo 64 from my friend, RogerX, and it's my first time modding a retro console! I wanted to document my journey in hopes that it may inspire others to rediscover the N64, and possibly other consoles that they love.

Why RGB mod a retro console?

American NTSC video game consoles used composite video signal to deliver video as well as the signal to sync video the frames to the TV along a single wire. This had a dramatic impact on video quality due to compression and it impacted the color depth. RGB, on the other hand, breaks the video up into 3 different channels; red, green, and blue as well as a separate signal for sync. Cabling for RGB video devices used multiple connectors like a SCART cable, found in Europe and Asia, or cables with RCA connectors similar to component cables. By tapping into the RGB signals on an NTSC console you can dramatically increase the picture and color quality.

That is a very elementary over view on RGB and more information can be found on https://www.retrorgb.com

Ok, now that you've RGB modded your console but what is an OSSC?

The OSSC (Open Source Scan Converter) line multiplies your video signal with absolutely zero input lag. What does that mean? To put it simply, it will take the 240p output on the N64 and multiply the video by 2x (480p), 3x (720p), 4x (960p), and even 5x 1200p. This will allow you to achieve "pixel perfect" video quality on your HD or 4K tv.

More information on the OSSC can be found here: https://videogameperfection.com/product ... converter/

Now for information on the console modification.