Configuring keys in rom options menu

Post tips/tricks or get help with configuring RetroPie
Post Reply
User avatar
drafterITA
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:15 am
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Configuring keys in rom options menu

Post by drafterITA » Sun May 21, 2017 1:17 am

Hi all,
I have a problem with my snes raspberry pi system, made with prerunnerseth's board: http://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2659 it uses GPIO input
I have to change options for a certain rom, to use another emulator for example, but with the controller I can't navigate this menu:
IMG_20170521_090911_01.jpg
IMG_20170521_090911_01.jpg (2.47 MiB) Viewed 3391 times
And basically I'm stuck here, I can only open the controller, attach the keyboard to the USB port via the dongle micro USB-to-USB and exit the menu.. Is there a way to configure keys for this option menu so I can use the controller buttons to perform ok and cancel operations? The dpad actually works to scroll up or down

Thank you very much :)
Cheers! :D
drafterITA

User avatar
VeteranGamer
Posts: 1738
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:12 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 528 times
Been thanked: 905 times

Re: Configuring keys in rom options menu

Post by VeteranGamer » Sun May 21, 2017 1:31 am

drafterITA wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 1:17 am
Hi all,
I have a problem with my snes raspberry pi system, made with prerunnerseth's board: http://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2659 it uses GPIO input
I have to change options for a certain rom, to use another emulator for example, but with the controller I can't navigate this menu:IMG_20170521_090911_01.jpg

And basically I'm stuck here, I can only open the controller, attach the keyboard to the USB port via the dongle micro USB-to-USB and exit the menu.. Is there a way to configure keys for this option menu so I can use the controller buttons to perform ok and cancel operations? The dpad actually works to scroll up or down

Thank you very much :)


there are some controllers that let you do this, i've only found that xbox 360 controllers give you the most usability (which is no use to you)

the keyboard is the only way....


you may be able to ssh into it, but this seem more long winded then plugging in a keyboard

User avatar
drafterITA
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:15 am
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Configuring keys in rom options menu

Post by drafterITA » Sun May 21, 2017 2:46 am

VeteranGamer wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 1:31 am
there are some controllers that let you do this, i've only found that xbox 360 controllers give you the most usability (which is no use to you)

the keyboard is the only way....


you may be able to ssh into it, but this seem more long winded then plugging in a keyboard
Dang it.. that's a bummer..
A more creative solution like 2 tact switches on the back of the controller and map them with GPIO to the keyboard keys ENTER and ESC?
(is this sci-fi or is it possible?)

Alternatively, do you know if I can change this kind of things manually with configuration files? Like select another emulator for the specified rom?
thank you :)
Cheers! :D
drafterITA

User avatar
VeteranGamer
Posts: 1738
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:12 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 528 times
Been thanked: 905 times

Re: Configuring keys in rom options menu

Post by VeteranGamer » Sun May 21, 2017 3:20 am

drafterITA wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 2:46 am
VeteranGamer wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 1:31 am
there are some controllers that let you do this, i've only found that xbox 360 controllers give you the most usability (which is no use to you)

the keyboard is the only way....


you may be able to ssh into it, but this seem more long winded then plugging in a keyboard
Dang it.. that's a bummer..
A more creative solution like 2 tact switches on the back of the controller and map them with GPIO to the keyboard keys ENTER and ESC?
(is this sci-fi or is it possible?)

this is posible.... its something i was thinking about doing on my for my GBZ build, especially as i would have liked to have played arcade games with require the esc to exit the games)

if your controls are via gpio then adding an extra but shouldnt be an issue.....

for the controller pcb or aio, i looked at this option (it could be out of date now)




but if your not going to need it setup menu access all the time, is it really work doing all the work

User avatar
drafterITA
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:15 am
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Configuring keys in rom options menu

Post by drafterITA » Sun May 21, 2017 5:57 am

VeteranGamer wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 3:20 am
drafterITA wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 2:46 am
Dang it.. that's a bummer..
A more creative solution like 2 tact switches on the back of the controller and map them with GPIO to the keyboard keys ENTER and ESC?
(is this sci-fi or is it possible?)

this is posible.... its something i was thinking about doing on my for my GBZ build, especially as i would have liked to have played arcade games with require the esc to exit the games)

if your controls are via gpio then adding an extra but shouldnt be an issue.....
Do you know how to do it? I'm searching the Internet for a couple hours but I end up always with nothing..
Thank you :)
Cheers! :D
drafterITA

User avatar
HoolyHoo
Posts: 758
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:34 pm
Has thanked: 204 times
Been thanked: 734 times

Re: Configuring keys in rom options menu

Post by HoolyHoo » Sun May 21, 2017 7:00 am

drafterITA wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 5:57 am
VeteranGamer wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 3:20 am
drafterITA wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 2:46 am
Dang it.. that's a bummer..
A more creative solution like 2 tact switches on the back of the controller and map them with GPIO to the keyboard keys ENTER and ESC?
(is this sci-fi or is it possible?)

this is posible.... its something i was thinking about doing on my for my GBZ build, especially as i would have liked to have played arcade games with require the esc to exit the games)

if your controls are via gpio then adding an extra but shouldnt be an issue.....
Do you know how to do it? I'm searching the Internet for a couple hours but I end up always with nothing..
Thank you :)
He has a guide here:
http://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=57
I believe you just need to edit the retrogame.c file and add the keyboard keys and pi BCM number of your GPIO buttons to the array. Rest should be the same if you follow the guide. You can probably also just edit "KEY_E" to "KEY_ENTER" and "KEY_S" to "KEY_ESC" to change what you need also. You'll have to test it.

User avatar
drafterITA
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:15 am
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Configuring keys in rom options menu

Post by drafterITA » Sun May 21, 2017 7:55 am

HoolyHoo wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 7:00 am
He has a guide here:
http://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=57
I believe you just need to edit the retrogame.c file and add the keyboard keys and pi BCM number of your GPIO buttons to the array. Rest should be the same if you follow the guide. You can probably also just edit "KEY_E" to "KEY_ENTER" and "KEY_S" to "KEY_ESC" to change what you need also. You'll have to test it.
My Oh my.. I only read the second half of that guide to set up the board.. I figured I had to modify the C library but I was not sure how :D
I'll wait to see the inside of the case from the pictures of the other user who put the shutdown tact button and I'll do both things together :D
Thank you very much!
Cheers! :D
drafterITA

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest