Recalbox not working with screen

Post tips/tricks or get help with configuring Recalbox
User avatar
Fawful
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 10:31 am

Recalbox not working with screen

Post by Fawful » Thu Sep 22, 2016 12:39 pm

Hello
I have an issue were recalbox wont show up on my screen. I've gotten retropie to work, so I don't see why recalbox wouldn't be able too.

any fixes to this issue?
(Sorry for the blurry/dim images)

(With recalbox)
Image
(With Retropie)
Image

Brett82
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2016 8:12 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Recalbox not working with screen

Post by Brett82 » Thu Sep 22, 2016 1:30 pm

recall box defaults to hhdmi you need to edit the config.

SidSilver
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 6:22 am
Location: France
Has thanked: 146 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Recalbox not working with screen

Post by SidSilver » Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:44 pm

Edit your boot/config.txt
remove any HDMI line

add this at the top of the file

Code: Select all

disable_overscan=0
overscan_scale=1
sdtv_mode=2
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=16
With that you should have HDMI if plugged at start, composite if there is no HDMI plugged.

User avatar
Fawful
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 10:31 am

Re: Recalbox not working with screen

Post by Fawful » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:48 am

Brett82 wrote:recall box defaults to hhdmi you need to edit the config.
SidSilver wrote:Edit your boot/config.txt
remove any HDMI line

add this at the top of the file

Code: Select all

disable_overscan=0
overscan_scale=1
sdtv_mode=2
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=16
With that you should have HDMI if plugged at start, composite if there is no HDMI plugged.
Thanks, both of you :D
Works perfectly

otaola.franc
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 8:20 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Recalbox not working with screen

Post by otaola.franc » Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:31 pm

hello guys,
@SidSilver
i have donne that and now, when i turn on my pi, the screen is rest in a white color if it isnt connected with the hdmi, if it is then the screen it rest in white and in the tv it boots normally. any idea?
also, it is possible to change the boot screen :D?

SidSilver
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 6:22 am
Location: France
Has thanked: 146 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Recalbox not working with screen

Post by SidSilver » Tue Oct 04, 2016 2:35 pm

What version of Recalbox do you use ?

otaola.franc
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 8:20 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Recalbox not working with screen

Post by otaola.franc » Tue Oct 04, 2016 2:56 pm

SidSilver wrote:What version of Recalbox do you use ?
The last 4.0 beta 5 if i remember correctly.... I erased everything that had HDMI in the code
i look it, it is recalboxOS-4.0.0-beta5

SidSilver
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 6:22 am
Location: France
Has thanked: 146 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Recalbox not working with screen

Post by SidSilver » Tue Oct 04, 2016 11:40 pm

Are you sure your screen is wired correctly ?

otaola.franc
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 8:20 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Recalbox not working with screen

Post by otaola.franc » Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:23 am

SidSilver wrote:Are you sure your screen is wired correctly ?
Prety sure, i made it with the guide photos so it woyld work. Maybe i missed something but i dont think so... Maybe i erased to much in the config? I erase everything that had HDMI in the line... I cant imagine Another thing.... U.u

SidSilver
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 6:22 am
Location: France
Has thanked: 146 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Recalbox not working with screen

Post by SidSilver » Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:47 am

otaola.franc wrote:
SidSilver wrote:Are you sure your screen is wired correctly ?
Prety sure, i made it with the guide photos so it woyld work. Maybe i missed something but i dont think so... Maybe i erased to much in the config? I erase everything that had HDMI in the line... I cant imagine Another thing.... U.u
try to copy past all of this code

Code: Select all

disable_overscan=0

sdtv_mode=2
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=16

# Overclock
gpu_mem_256=128
gpu_mem_512=256
gpu_mem_1024=512

#hdmi_force_hotplug=1
temp_limit=65

kernel=zImage

disable_overscan=0
overscan_scale=1
arm_freq=1000
core_freq=250
sdram_freq=450
force_turbo=0
over_voltage=6
over_voltage_sdram=0
gpu_freq=250
Don't forget to modify "/recalbox/share/system/recalbox.conf to set "global.videomode=default"

if it doesn't work, then check your wires.
Yellow should go to square TV pin on the PI
White, I removed it but be careful, some screens need it to be grounded.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest