If you're still offering, I'd pay $2 for 2. I have no real way to check to make sure they work before I put them in my install.RxBrad wrote:@Woodmill
I can probably send you 2 for $2 shipped or 1 for $1.50. Since I've run into a dud in my "good" batch (ordered here), I'll want to test it out on the breadboard before I send it. Whether I really have spares also depends on how many good ones I have in the batch of 10 that I ordered.
PM me on Monday if I don't get back to you before then. Or you can order from that same supplier I used. It took a little over 2 weeks to get to Michigan, and that was with it getting stuck in customs in Chicago for about 5 days.
[Guide] Graceful shutdown switch without Pololu [RETIRED]
- WoodMill
- Posts: 181
- Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:57 am
- Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
- Has thanked: 21 times
- Been thanked: 29 times
Re: [Guide] Graceful shutdown switch without Pololu
Follow my Youtube Vlog about Filmmaking
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... P0H6UZe1ds
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... P0H6UZe1ds
- RxBrad
- Posts: 278
- Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 9:10 am
- Has thanked: 125 times
- Been thanked: 160 times
- Contact:
Re: [Guide] Graceful shutdown switch without Pololu
@Woodmill I didn't get a chance to check my stock this weekend, but should get it done in the next day or two. I'll PM a PayPal link to you once I'm good to go.
- fdeluxe
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 10:16 am
- Has thanked: 12 times
- Been thanked: 27 times
- Contact:
Re: [Guide] Graceful shutdown switch without Pololu
Sorry if this has been asked before: Do I need the power monitoring script in order to make the Pi shutdown when I set the switch to off? I've added "dtoverlay=gpio-poweroff,gpiopin=22,active_low="y" to my config.txt, but my Pi just stays on when I use the switch
Re: [Guide] Graceful shutdown switch without Pololu
RxBrad wrote:
BREAKTHROUGH!!!!! (Urk. Most of the time, at least. It occasionally still insta-kills the power.)
In the battery monitor script:
In config.txt:Code: Select all
25. GPIO.setup(powerGPIO, GPIO.IN, pull_up_down=GPIO.PUD_UP) 64. if GPIO.input(powerGPIO) is 0: 87. if GPIO.input(powerGPIO) is 1:
Wire it up like this:Code: Select all
dtoverlay=gpio-poweroff,gpiopin=22,active_low="y"
It frickin' WORKS!!!! Tested with a Fairchild 2N5460 and a Fairchild 2N5461.
Reminder that this is the pinout on the Fairchild FET:
Hi, can anyone help me. Im running out of ideas. Tried almost every configuration shown in this post and i dont know how to get it to work.
With this configuration above i am able to use the power switch the right way. Pins above, left off, right on. I installed the power monitor. After the boot it wants to shut down immediately, saying im out of capacity. The thing is, the cable is plugged in.
Have to test it with charged battery, but this shouldn´t behave so, right?
-
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:45 am
- Location: Lutz, FL
- Has thanked: 23 times
- Been thanked: 7 times
Re: [Guide] Graceful shutdown switch without Pololu
if you installed Camble's power monitor as it is (from github), it's expecting 3.3V on one of the GPIO pins (don't remember off the top of my head) from the battery monitor. If you don't have the battery monitor hardware, you'll have to either modify the python script to remove the battery monitor or tie low battery gpio pin on the zero to 3.3v (read: NOT the lbo pin on the 1000c)...lordalex wrote: Hi, can anyone help me. Im running out of ideas. Tried almost every configuration shown in this post and i dont know how to get it to work.
With this configuration above i am able to use the power switch the right way. Pins above, left off, right on. I installed the power monitor. After the boot it wants to shut down immediately, saying im out of capacity. The thing is, the cable is plugged in.
Have to test it with charged battery, but this shouldn´t behave so, right?
Re: [Guide] Graceful shutdown switch without Pololu
Can you tell me the last part?jsawhite wrote:
if you installed Camble's power monitor as it is (from github), it's expecting 3.3V on one of the GPIO pins (don't remember off the top of my head) from the battery monitor. If you don't have the battery monitor hardware, you'll have to either modify the python script to remove the battery monitor or tie low battery gpio pin on the zero to 3.3v (read: NOT the lbo pin on the 1000c)...
Im running this configuration now. Same behavieur. Like you said right? But isnt working at all
Edit: switch is the other way. Off, when EN and GND are connected
Beside this: Graceful shutdown isnt working either. Just switched to off and it immediately went off. :/
- Attachments
-
- Shutdown.jpg (28.35 KiB) Viewed 9277 times
- Camble
- Posts: 885
- Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 2:31 am
- Location: Scotland
- Has thanked: 269 times
- Been thanked: 488 times
Re: [Guide] Graceful shutdown switch without Pololu
@lordalex The switch behaves that way by design. When you break the connection between EN and GND, the PowerBoost turns on.
If you don't have the low battery connection, you need to remove this line from the script:
Please make sure you're running the latest version of the script.
If you don't have the low battery connection, you need to remove this line from the script:
Code: Select all
GPIO.add_event_detect(batteryGPIO, GPIO.FALLING, callback=lowBattery, bouncetime=300)
- fdeluxe
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 10:16 am
- Has thanked: 12 times
- Been thanked: 27 times
- Contact:
Re: [Guide] Graceful shutdown switch without Pololu
I already asked this on Youtube, but Ill repeat my question here so anyone can read it:
I noticed that the Powerboost never really turns off (blue LED keeps shining). @Camble answered that "this issue can be resolved with a JFET in series with your power switch."
Does anyone have a guide on this? Does this mean I need two JFETs?
Thanks
I noticed that the Powerboost never really turns off (blue LED keeps shining). @Camble answered that "this issue can be resolved with a JFET in series with your power switch."
Does anyone have a guide on this? Does this mean I need two JFETs?
Thanks
- Camble
- Posts: 885
- Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 2:31 am
- Location: Scotland
- Has thanked: 269 times
- Been thanked: 488 times
Re: [Guide] Graceful shutdown switch without Pololu
@fdeluxe No, just one. Follow the guide to build the circuit, but be mindful there are counterfeit JFETs in the Chinese market. We originally thought some brands didn't work in the same application, but I suspect most of the trouble people have had are due to counterfeits. If you need help sourcing, or identifying a JFET, give me a shout.
You may have reached Popcorn's video from my github clone of his power monitor. Maybe that's where the confusion lies? His original solution used a Pololu switch and the PowerBoost would remain enabled.
You may have reached Popcorn's video from my github clone of his power monitor. Maybe that's where the confusion lies? His original solution used a Pololu switch and the PowerBoost would remain enabled.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest