Page 3 of 4

Re: Change 3.5" HDMI display boot logo

Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 2:17 pm
by floppes
VeteranGamer wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 11:42 am

Image
Can you please post the full log from the bottom of the window?

Under "Tools" -> "Board", did you select "Arduino/Genuino Uno"?

Re: Change 3.5" HDMI display boot logo

Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 2:43 pm
by VeteranGamer
floppes wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 2:17 pm
VeteranGamer wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 11:42 am

Image
Can you please post the full log from the bottom of the window?

Under "Tools" -> "Board", did you select "Arduino/Genuino Uno"?
If you see my previous post...

The first image (before flashing)....
Shows the board selected, the com port and the programmer type...


.

Re: Change 3.5" HDMI display boot logo

Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 11:38 pm
by floppes
Sorry, I missed the screenshot with the "Tools" menu. Ok, so the Arduino is configured correctly.

Can you please post the full output log? It would be interesting to know which "invalid" libraries were found.

What is the output from the GUI tool when you connect and don't have the display connected?

Re: Change 3.5" HDMI display boot logo

Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 2:58 am
by VeteranGamer
floppes wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 11:38 pm
Sorry, I missed the screenshot with the "Tools" menu. Ok, so the Arduino is configured correctly.

Can you please post the full output log? It would be interesting to know which "invalid" libraries were found.

What is the output from the GUI tool when you connect and don't have the display connected?

the invalid libraries have been from before (they need removing)....
they were libraries I installed (or try to install), when I was programming controllers (like a Pro Micro)


this is how the Arduino is without anything connected....

Image
(the amber LED is flashing)


this is how it is when everything is connected

Image


and again, once everything is connected, still no joy....

Image


very bewildering....



.

Re: Change 3.5" HDMI display boot logo

Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:35 pm
by floppes
Ok, I assume the sketch has been downloaded to the Arduino properly.

Have you tried the GUI with the Arduino connected, but without the display connected? This way we can verify the connection between Arduino and the PC without interference from the display. When you click "Connect", you should get the message "Initialization error: I2C slave not detected". The amber LED should flash with a 200 ms duty cycle.

Re: Change 3.5" HDMI display boot logo

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 6:38 am
by VeteranGamer
floppes wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:35 pm
Ok, I assume the sketch has been downloaded to the Arduino properly.

Have you tried the GUI with the Arduino connected, but without the display connected? This way we can verify the connection between Arduino and the PC without interference from the display. When you click "Connect", you should get the message "Initialization error: I2C slave not detected". The amber LED should flash with a 200 ms duty cycle.
OK....
not making any real head way on this.....

this is what i get with just the Arduino connected to the PC (windows recognises it connected to COM7), NOT connected to the HDMI screen


stand alone .EXE

Image

i get an "error" when trying to connect, and an "error" when Read Status is pressed...


this is done with the Visual Studios version

Image

dont get anything when I try to connect


Image

but get an "error" when Read Status is pressed....



now i'm not sure if its the App, as Windows is detecting the Arduino (COM7) and I get the same issues if the screen is connected or not....


at a complete loss....




.

Re: Change 3.5" HDMI display boot logo

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:08 am
by floppes
On GitHub two people had similar issues and they solved it by reducing the baud rate to 9600. To do so, change the line

Code: Select all

Serial.begin(115200);
in the Arduino code to

Code: Select all

Serial.begin(9600);
In the GUI tool, the baud rate is set next to the COM port. I hope this helps...

Re: Change 3.5" HDMI display boot logo

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:30 pm
by VeteranGamer
floppes wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:08 am
On GitHub two people had similar issues and they solved it by reducing the baud rate to 9600. To do so, change the line

Code: Select all

Serial.begin(115200);
in the Arduino code to

Code: Select all

Serial.begin(9600);
In the GUI tool, the baud rate is set next to the COM port. I hope this helps...

Thanks, I really appreciate the help.....


but no success here.....

I've re-flashed the Arduino, change the Serial begin to 9600 in the code (flash without issues)
I've changed the Baud Rate in the App to 9600

still get the "error"


I've then re-flashed again back to 115200
tried it, without success

even changed the ports Bits Per Second to 115200 to see if that might do something (as it was at 9600 in default)....


but no joy....


:(



i've also tried it on another system, just in case it was my PC.....

.

Re: Change 3.5" HDMI display boot logo

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:09 am
by floppes
Someone else had similar problems and for him it helped to press the reset button on the Arduino before clicking "Connect".

If you have not given up yet, you can try the following steps:

- Connect the Arduino to your PC (don't connect the display to the Arduino)
- Start the GUI tool, configure the connection, don't click "Connect" yet
- Press the reset button on the Arduino for a second and release it
- Click "Connect"

I hope it works this time...

Re: Change 3.5" HDMI display boot logo

Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2018 1:19 pm
by Marty33
Hello all. i have problem. I work on changing the logo (i'm noob on Arduino).
Big thanks for your help ;)

I test "Blink sketch". All is OK, Arduino play the sketch.

I follow this tutorial for reset Arduino : https://www.instructables.com/id/two-wa ... -software/

After this, here my LED :
Image

If i launch RTD266xFlash.exe, i have error on connect, if i read status i obtain :
Reading status info... done
Manufacturer ID: 0x00 (Unknown)
Device ID: 0x00 (Unknown)
JEDEC Manufacturer ID: 0x00 (Unknown)
JEDEC Memory Type: 0x00
JEDEC Capacity: 0x00 (Unknown)
Status: 0x0000
I close program, i launch RTD266xArduino.ino and upload. No errors. After this, here my LED :
Image

I launch RTD266xFlash.exe, i have error on connect, if i read status i obtain :
error
Reading status info... error
I turn off the Arduino, connect the screen on it, turn on, no blinking LED. I run RTD266xFlash. Press 2 second on reset button. Connect button and obtain :
error
Reading status info... error
INFO :
For my wiring, i'm here but for the moment, it's not the question...

16 to A4. 17 to GND. 15 to A5
Image Image