Need Some Help with a screen

Having trouble with your mintyPi build? Post your questions here!
giantflyingbirds

Soldering Help

Post by giantflyingbirds » Wed Aug 23, 2017 2:29 pm

Hey all,

So I'm working on soldering up my button PCB at the moment. I had everything working nicely except the select and right buttons, so I checked and fixed everything I could with a multimeter. Now nothing is working. Only reasoning I can find (again being a total noob) is that I soldered both gpio pins beneath the ground label. When testing the two ground connections I get nothing. I assume my two ground connection may be hindering the system, but I'm not sure how I changed it if I simply improved the connections. The pi boots and is functional with a keyboard. Any advice would be awesome.

Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer

Re: Soldering Help

Post by Helder » Wed Aug 23, 2017 2:37 pm

If you're getting no continuity on GND just solder a wire to the 8pin GND test pad to the GND GPIO.
Chat with me and other members On Discord

Don't contact me about obtaining my board files (as you will not get them). If my Boards or PCB Kits are sold out, they will be restocked as soon as I can get them and there is demand for them. You can join the mailing list on my Website to be notified when they are available.

Helder's Game Tech Website

We will not support any cloned work so don't come to us with technical issues to resolve, go talk to the cloner for help.

giantflyingbirds

Post by giantflyingbirds » Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:29 pm

I'll give that a try. I think the question I was trying to ask was really if it would cause problems to have solder in both holes on the pi beneath the GND label.

Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer

Post by Helder » Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:54 pm

As long as it doesn't touch other GPIO pins you're fine. Post pictures.
Chat with me and other members On Discord