USB audio wiring - confused!

General GBZ-related chat goes here. Share ideas, tips and tricks, or ask questions that don't fit into the hardware/software help forums.
winnston84

USB audio wiring - confused!

Post by winnston84 » Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:56 pm

I really could do with some guidance on wiring up my USB audio. Components I have are:
  • Adafruit 2.5w mono amp
  • Sabrent USB
I've tried to interpret the USB guide into these components, but i'm doing something wrong and being a complete novice I could really do with some clear advice!

With the audio jack, I have no idea what is L/R in/out, but i do know the 2 left pins are connected on the multimeter and the 2 right pins are connected. I've assumed from this, and looking at the 3.5mm jack diagram, that the outer two are L/R out and inner two are L/R in.

Here is how I've wired this up. All i get is hissing/static noise once i plug the USB into my PC and play audio. I know audio is coming out, because ive left the green 3.5mm jack on the USB for now and it plays fine through that. Please help!

jermzz

Re: USB audio wiring - confused!

Post by jermzz » Mon Feb 27, 2017 8:01 pm

I've never done USB audio, but I can tell you I have a bag of the same b103's i can't get to work properly using any wiring diagram on here. But as soon as I switched to the b10k from RadioShack everything worked fantastic. I'm thinking the pin outs are different or something.

winnston84

Post by winnston84 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:34 am

I have had working audio with the b103 and Pwm method,but I have a lot of feedback/hissing so I decided to switch.

winnston84

Post by winnston84 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:40 am

I've wired up the USB audio directly to a speaker, works fine. As soon as I wire in the 2.5w amp, lots of feedback/hissing. Here''s how i wired it:

redled

Post by redled » Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:21 pm

winnston84 wrote:
Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:40 am