Gameboy writing on case.

General GBZ-related chat goes here. Share ideas, tips and tricks, or ask questions that don't fit into the hardware/software help forums.
Crainium17

Gameboy writing on case.

Post by Crainium17 » Fri Mar 02, 2018 12:07 pm

I'm sure this has been asked before, but I've ran a search and looked for a couple of days and didn't find anything so I thought I'd ask now to save some time. Can the writing on the Gameboy case off eBay dmg style be taken off without damaging the color or case itself? (I talking about the start, select, A, B, & Gameboy writing under the screen)

ZahcStarKiller

Re: Gameboy writing on case.

Post by ZahcStarKiller » Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:07 am

From my experience, I would try Acetone. It can be found in the hardware store, and is also the main ingredient in nail polish remover. Wear gloves (as a paramedic I will tell you that Acetone is EXTREMELY toxic to your liver and soaks straight through your skin), put some on a paper towel or cotton swab, and give it a good rub. I would be shocked if that doesn't take the lettering straight off in seconds. It also won't hurt the plastic at all if you don't soak it heavily. Acetone will melt some plastics though so be careful (It will eat straight through a red solo cup in about 30 seconds). Just a little dab on a paper towel. Not dripping wet.

Honestly, I am sure that will work. The china made cases, or really any cases, use inks, likely screen printed on. I haven't found a single type of paint or printing that acetone won't eat straight through. It can smear the ink though, so if that happens, just hit it again and wipe it clean with another acetone soaked paper towel. Repeat until it's all pretty.
Last edited by ZahcStarKiller on Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

ZahcStarKiller

Post by ZahcStarKiller » Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:13 am