GBA SPi-Zero with custom AIO board [Battery Update]

Show off your completed Game Boy Zero, or post your build logs here!
codeman0624

GBA SPi-Zero with custom AIO board [Battery Update]

Post by codeman0624 » Wed Aug 09, 2017 6:40 am

Hi Everyone,

I built a PI3 Wii U gamepad not that long ago, but I couldn't stop there. I wanted to build something that was smaller, and I really like the clam-shell form factor of the GBA-SP. And it seemed like a very rare build here on the forums, so I set out to build one. I was determined to keep the outside of the case unmodified, it just looks much better that way. My background is in microelectronic circuit design, so rather than try to hack all the pieces into the case, I decided to make an AIO board.

Here's what my AIO board includes:

Mechanical things:
  • Mounting pattern for a RPi-0
  • Matching buttons for all GBA SP buttons
  • Additional X and Y button placement
  • Pseudo-button-wells for carrying the new X and Y buttons
  • Provides SD card access through cart slot

Electrical things:
  • Li-ion battery charger and power path selector
  • 5V step-up regulator
  • Class-D, I2S audio chip
  • PIC18F25K80 microntroller for controlling everything
  • Smart, safe-shutdown monitoring the power switch
  • USB debug port for talking to the microcontroller
  • Ability to control the screen menu with the A, Up, and Down buttons
  • Ribbon cable and adapter board for passing signals through the hinge mechanism

A lot of work went into getting everything to fit mechanically. But enough of that, onto the pictures and the details.
Testing the circuitryShow
Having never used GPIO for controls, or done I2S sound output on the Pi, I needed to make sure that everything would work before building a board. So breadboard and adafruit I2S sound module to the rescue:
Getting the screen to fitShow