My first attempt at making a Wooden GBZ Case

Show off your completed Game Boy Zero, or post your build logs here!
Wood_Style

My first attempt at making a Wooden GBZ Case

Post by Wood_Style » Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:03 pm

The still in progress detailed build log can be found here https://imgur.com/a/FbacC
Front Side so farShow
ImageImage
Back Side so farShow
Top view with pcb board so farShow
An early look at the buttonsShow
ImageImageImage
This is my first attempt at making a custom GBZ case out of wood. I am not sure if I am posting in the correct subforum since this is a build log that is still in progress. I will be posting the F360 files this weekend that I have used so far (based on neolith’s 3d case file) so you can see and play around with all of the cutting operations I used in case anyone wants to make one themselves or improve upon what is there.

If anyone has any advice or sees any potential problems in my method please let me know. I am not an engineer, just a hobbyist so if I have said anything you know to be incorrect or have used incorrect terms to describe things please correct me.

Thoughts so far – This way of cutting out the case is much more time consuming and equipment consuming (vs what was done in this build https://www.sudomod.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=4508) as the router needs to cut out a lot of wood specifically the hollowing out of the insides of the case halves and the 3D profile cutting. I think the benefit is the visual aspect of having each half being carved out of a solid piece of wood and it being closer to the original case itself.
Notes on the filesShow