My First GBZ Build (Noob Questions Galore)

Show off your completed Game Boy Zero, or post your build logs here!
jhk1976

My First GBZ Build (Noob Questions Galore)

Post by jhk1976 » Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:08 am

Hello everyone,

I discovered the GBZ a couple of weeks ago as I was pondering a new project to take on. I like what I've seen on here, and have spent the last couple of weeks gathering parts so that I can get started. I'm using the long weekend as a chance to jump in!
IMG_1273.JPG
IMG_1273.JPG (2.75 MiB) Viewed 6287 times
As I am new at this, I have questions galore. I've been drawing diagrams of how I plan to wire everything up. I have a lot of it figured out, but there are a few other things I wonder about. My goal is to use as few boards as possible, but as I could not get my hands on an AIO board, there will be a few more in there. I actually don't mind this, as I wanted this project to be a learning tool for me as well.

So on to the questions, and thank you all in advance for the wealth of knowledge you've already shared here on Sudomod. :D

1. From what I can tell, the only two devices that I will need 5v for are the Pi Zero and the screen. I have a Gearbest screen on order, but it isn't here yet. Is there a way to successfully power both without needing a power strip board?

2. I need a ground connection for the micro USB breakout board, but the two ground pinouts on the Powerboost are used by the grounds for the switch and the Pi Zero. Is there somewhere else on the PB I can connect to for ground? Can I use the ground connector for the standard USB port I didn't end up adding to it? If not, would connecting it to a ground on a different board, such as the pi or the common ground board be an option? I figured ground is ground, but I wanted to be sure.