Screen performance?

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
Fin-Glim
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:24 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Screen performance?

Post by Fin-Glim » Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:39 pm

fraggle wrote:
Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:06 pm
You could try forcing the frame buffer to the resolution of the screen. What I have found is that quite a few of the 3.5" composite screens are not actually 320 x 240 - they are a little under - for example the ones I have are actually 320 x 234.

To set the frame buffer open up /boot/config.txt and uncomment/modify the following lines to match your screen resolution.

Code: Select all

framebuffer_width=320
framebuffer_height=234
Could you provide more specific instruction on how to make this modification?
Please & thanks, Gretchen

User avatar
Sushi
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 8:17 am
Location: East USA
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Screen performance?

Post by Sushi » Sun Jan 21, 2018 6:21 pm

Fin-Glim wrote:
Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:39 pm
fraggle wrote:
Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:06 pm
You could try forcing the frame buffer to the resolution of the screen. What I have found is that quite a few of the 3.5" composite screens are not actually 320 x 240 - they are a little under - for example the ones I have are actually 320 x 234.

To set the frame buffer open up /boot/config.txt and uncomment/modify the following lines to match your screen resolution.

Code: Select all

framebuffer_width=320
framebuffer_height=234
Could you provide more specific instruction on how to make this modification?
Please & thanks, Gretchen
There are two ways:

Put the Pi's SD card into your computer and find a file called config.txt. From there, just add the two lines provided above to the bottom and save.

The second way starts by accessing the terminal on the pi. Then, type "sudo nano /boot/config.txt". This will open up a text editor. Then, just add the same lines provided above to the bottom. Press CTRL+O and then enter to write to the file. Press CTRL+X to exit. Then, reboot the pi.


bakub
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 7:47 am

Re: Screen performance?

Post by bakub » Sat Feb 24, 2018 8:23 am

Hello,

i have got the same problem with my screen like a author this topic, my screen is a fuzzy.

I use screen 3.5 lcd from gearbest:

https://www.gearbest.com/development-bo ... 29447.html

Image

Image

Could someone help me or give me some tips?

Thanks.

bakub
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 7:47 am

Re: Screen performance?

Post by bakub » Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:01 am

When i set in /boot/config.txt

sdtv_mode=2

it repair menu , but now game is not smoothly.

How change retroarch to video PAL ?

User avatar
BlastoSupreme
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:29 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Screen performance?

Post by BlastoSupreme » Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:41 am

VeteranGamer wrote:
Mon May 01, 2017 6:26 am
Kalei808 wrote:
Mon May 01, 2017 12:35 am
I had the same problem.what i did to fix it; Ground to the pi, Ive used a composite (rca) single shielded wire from vid1 and ground from lcd driver board to the pi tv out and the ground next to the tv out on the pi. Screen is perfect now with no fuzzy lines, just crisp. Good luck
i can second that....

i went back and changed the wiring after my build was finished (my son complained that the screen was having intermitten interference)


used an old rca lead lying around

Image


your board may vary but the principle is the same

Image



now the screen is crisp (as can be expected) and no interference
I’m having the same issue. You’re using the negative for ground? I’m sorry if that’s a stupid question. I’m very new to electronics.

User avatar
Helder
Trailblazer
Trailblazer
Posts: 2975
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 8:33 am
Location: Rogers, AR
Has thanked: 1457 times
Been thanked: 3110 times

Re: Screen performance?

Post by Helder » Mon Apr 23, 2018 3:21 pm

Negative always goes to Ground in just about any circuit.
Chat with me and other members On Discord

Don't contact me about obtaining my board files (as you will not get them). If my Boards or PCB Kits are sold out, they will be restocked as soon as I can get them and there is demand for them. You can join the mailing list on my Website to be notified when they are available.


Helder's Game Tech Website

We will not support any cloned work so don't come to us with technical issues to resolve, go talk to the cloner for help.

DeadSeeLife
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:53 pm

Re: Screen performance?

Post by DeadSeeLife » Tue Jul 24, 2018 5:30 pm

Ok so I’m having the same issue as the OP. I’m getting like a weird “interference”-like noise at the top of the screen. I followed the directions and used an old RCA cable but I’m not positive that I’m hooking everything up to the right spots. I’m using the backup camera screen from amazon and I have variant 7. So the board is practically glued to the back of the lcd. As long as the colors of the wires don’t change from one variant to the next then I think everything is in the right spot. But it still doesn’t look that great. I can’t seem to get a photo of the noise I’m seeing. Still trying. Here’s how I have it hooked up.
Attachments
628834C8-21AA-4A09-BAAD-642C3D90C2F7.jpeg
628834C8-21AA-4A09-BAAD-642C3D90C2F7.jpeg (2.28 MiB) Viewed 8786 times
EDEE4252-8D1C-4EA9-8C6F-C23FEB158C18.jpeg
EDEE4252-8D1C-4EA9-8C6F-C23FEB158C18.jpeg (4.18 MiB) Viewed 8786 times

DeadSeeLife
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:53 pm

Re: Screen performance?

Post by DeadSeeLife » Tue Jul 24, 2018 5:35 pm

Ok. So when I start it up...it says AV2 on the screen. Do I have the video signal going into the wrong input? I used wermy’s first video as an example but he was using the adafruit screen. Also...here’s what the noise kind of looks like.
Top right corner.
Attachments
87BC594D-44F6-4060-BD5F-8C52D2D149BA.jpeg
87BC594D-44F6-4060-BD5F-8C52D2D149BA.jpeg (1.06 MiB) Viewed 8786 times
0E455BB9-10B1-49CC-9B44-57D8138BF02F.jpeg
0E455BB9-10B1-49CC-9B44-57D8138BF02F.jpeg (1.02 MiB) Viewed 8786 times

DeadSeeLife
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:53 pm

Re: Screen performance?

Post by DeadSeeLife » Tue Jul 24, 2018 6:15 pm

Ok redid everything. Still the same. Took off the white AV2 wire.
Now going from pi OUT to AV1 using the inside part of an rca cable. The ground i think is grounded on the lcd and the pi. Power to power.
Still have the noise. 😕
Attachments
06574268-2EC0-4DF6-8008-D9950B10F88D.jpeg
06574268-2EC0-4DF6-8008-D9950B10F88D.jpeg (2.54 MiB) Viewed 8784 times
23E7A099-CA5F-4936-BB2D-D313D9108794.jpeg
23E7A099-CA5F-4936-BB2D-D313D9108794.jpeg (2.64 MiB) Viewed 8784 times

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest