Using a different LCD panel with KeDei 3.5" HDMI board?

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
skorpien
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:32 pm
Has thanked: 10 times

Using a different LCD panel with KeDei 3.5" HDMI board?

Post by skorpien » Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:23 pm

I ended up breaking the LCD panel that came with the KeDei 3.5" HDMI LCD I bought off eBay. It wasn't fitting, and figuring I'd try the PCB shaving method I'd seen online, I tried prying it apart. Needless to say, this ended badly...

So since I need to buy another screen anyway, I was wondering; would another 3.5" LCD panel work with the KeDei controller board/Pi hat? The board says 18bit on it, so I assume that's what the panel they use is. It's version 1.1 if that helps.

I tried looking up any model or serial numbers I could find with no luck.

Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

User avatar
vnman
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 5:21 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Using a different LCD panel with KeDei 3.5" HDMI board?

Post by vnman » Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:46 am

For anyone that has the "new" Kedei HDMI screen and has no tool to thin out the sides of the gameboy case, just replace the screen with this screen.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3-5-inc ... 0.0.PhxPKq

skorpien
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:32 pm
Has thanked: 10 times

Re: Using a different LCD panel with KeDei 3.5" HDMI board?

Post by skorpien » Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:12 am

I can't thank you enough for this! I've been going mad trying to find one that'll work. Thank you.

Edit: Can I ask if you've verified that this works? I'd hate to make the same mistake twice.

Edit 2: Never mind. Looking at the picture on the listing, it has the exact model number as the one in this review (https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... p?t=175616). Thanks again :)

User avatar
ViaCard
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 11:30 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: Using a different LCD panel with KeDei 3.5" HDMI board?

Post by ViaCard » Fri Jan 05, 2018 2:18 am

I have bought this screen (https://de.aliexpress.com/item/3-5-inch ... 0.0.PhxPKq) as replacement Screen for my Kedei HDMI with Version 1.1 2017/9/9, I broke the screen when i remove the touch panel.
SpoilerShow
IMG_5606.jpg
IMG_5606.jpg (74.64 KiB) Viewed 2755 times
The replacement screen doesent power up with my Kedei board. is useless for me. It was a waste of money.

I ordered now directly a complete screen and board, it doesn't cost so much more then the screen only and it will work for sure.

http://s.aliexpress.com/7VnimEbi


IMPORTANT >>>>> to all who post links of spare or replacing parts, please test it first yourself if it 100% works and not just make a copy/paste of stuff that you've read somewhere ;)

User avatar
vnman
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 5:21 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Using a different LCD panel with KeDei 3.5" HDMI board?

Post by vnman » Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:12 am

Fully tested and working BEFORE I posted the link.

I would like to stress that IMHO in the modding scenes you have to experiment and prepare to "waste" some money....

skorpien
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:32 pm
Has thanked: 10 times

Re: Using a different LCD panel with KeDei 3.5" HDMI board?

Post by skorpien » Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:40 pm

I'm experiencing the same issue as ViaCard. No power or picture to screen. I plugged in the old screen to make sure it wasn't the board, and the backlight came on (but no picture, which I assume is because the LCD panel is borked other than backlight).

vnman, do you mind me asking which version of the board you tested with? I'm beginning to suspect they changed more than just the display they use.

For reference mine is version 1.1 2017/7/1

Edit: I was thinking I may have just gotten a dud for the replacement, but the fact that ViaCard is having the same issue makes me think it isn't the screen?

User avatar
vnman
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 5:21 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Using a different LCD panel with KeDei 3.5" HDMI board?

Post by vnman » Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:09 am

IMG_20180118_214415.jpg
IMG_20180118_214415.jpg (303.05 KiB) Viewed 2603 times

skorpien
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:32 pm
Has thanked: 10 times

Re: Using a different LCD panel with KeDei 3.5" HDMI board?

Post by skorpien » Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:35 pm

Thanks vnman. Mine is 2017/7/1.

I think they've changed more than just the date stamp on these boards. Silly that they don't change the actual version number too.

User avatar
VeteranGamer
Posts: 1691
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:12 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 490 times
Been thanked: 880 times

Re: Using a different LCD panel with KeDei 3.5" HDMI board?

Post by VeteranGamer » Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:53 pm

skorpien wrote:
Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:35 pm
Thanks vnman. Mine is 2017/7/1.

I think they've changed more than just the date stamp on these boards. Silly that they don't change the actual version number too.
heres a comparison of two boards (different dates)

Version 1.1 2017/2/1
Image

Version 1.1 2017/9/9
Image

there are some noticeable differences between the boards....
(spot the differences)


i lack the technical know how to know if these are improvements in components for better/worst performance,
or complete changes to the board (scraping certain features)


i agree, they should have change the version numbers (that manufacturing in china for you :( )


.

User avatar
Casperdroid5
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 7:59 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Using a different LCD panel with KeDei 3.5" HDMI board?

Post by Casperdroid5 » Fri Jan 19, 2018 4:34 pm

Hey should is use this https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/raspberr ... sstype=600 board in my HDMI build? it's the link i saw when scrolling trough this topic. :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest