I2S Audio Issue

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
keperk

I2S Audio Issue

Post by keperk » Fri Mar 23, 2018 11:28 am

This is my first build, and for some reason I decided to use the Adafruit MAX98357A combo DAC/AMP instead of the usual PAM8302 setup... I have it mostly working, but when I wire everything up through the potentiometer and headphone jack I can only get sound through the headphones. I've tried a bunch of different wiring options for the speaker but nothing has worked.

Here's my current audio setup, any advice is appreciated!
Screen Shot 2018-03-23 at 11.26.00 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-03-23 at 11.26.00 AM.png (294.91 KiB) Viewed 4694 times

jakejm79

Re: I2S Audio Issue

Post by jakejm79 » Fri Mar 23, 2018 1:09 pm

Not sure where you came up with the wiring but it is all wrong.

Ground should run from -ve on the amp, ground connection on pot, ground on the head phone jack and ground on the speaker.
Positive runs from +ve on the amp, input on the pot. Then you run output on the pot to input on the headphone jack (you may want to connect both inputs together, the amp only outputs mono (a downmixed stereo version) this will give you audio to both L and R channels but it wont be true stereo), then output from the headphone jack to +ve on the speaker (in reality no need to worry about speaker polarity on something so small and with such low power).

If you have a 5 pin pot just ignore the input/output for one channel since its a mono amp.

keperk

Post by keperk » Fri Mar 23, 2018 1:55 pm

Thanks Jake! Appreciate the detailed reply. I have a 3 pin potentiometer as well, should I use that instead?
Here's a new diagram (hopefully following your advice) let me know what you think. I'll try it out when I get home tonight.
Screen Shot 2018-03-23 at 1.54.56 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-03-23 at 1.54.56 PM.png (368.85 KiB) Viewed 4687 times

jakejm79

Post by jakejm79 » Fri Mar 23, 2018 2:53 pm