GBZ with Raspberry Pi 3 A+ Help

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
Josh_E

GBZ with Raspberry Pi 3 A+ Help

Post by Josh_E » Sun Jun 16, 2019 11:46 am

Hi,
I am quite new to the idea of Game Boy Zero's however I have chosen to have a shot at it as a side project when I have time.
I was originally going to try and follow the guide by Wermy to the letter however have decided to have a go at making it my own. I would love to be able to play Playstation games on the GBZ however I know the Pi Zero is incapable of doing this where as the Pi 3 A+ is.

So I was wondering what I would need to change other than the Pi used to make this work?

I have also read forums where people have said that a heat sink is required for build such as this and wondered if anyone could confirm this or if this isn't true?

Thanks in advance for all your help :D

infinitLoop

Re: GBZ with Raspberry Pi 3 A+ Help

Post by infinitLoop » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:54 am

Josh_E wrote:
Sun Jun 16, 2019 11:46 am
Hi,
I am quite new to the idea of Game Boy Zero's however I have chosen to have a shot at it as a side project when I have time.
I was originally going to try and follow the guide by Wermy to the letter however have decided to have a go at making it my own. I would love to be able to play Playstation games on the GBZ however I know the Pi Zero is incapable of doing this where as the Pi 3 A+ is.

So I was wondering what I would need to change other than the Pi used to make this work?

I have also read forums where people have said that a heat sink is required for build such as this and wondered if anyone could confirm this or if this isn't true?

you wouldn't really have to change much of anything, as far as the build guide. they can hook up essentially the same way, but the pins/pads may be in different spots (particularly the audio and video).