Shell modifications question

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
Liathou

Shell modifications question

Post by Liathou » Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:44 am

Hi everyone,

I'm building my first Gameboy Zero.
I'm a total noob when it comes to electronics and soldering, so I think I'll keep my build as simple as possible.
I'll be using Tinkerboy Controller V3, with Tinkerboy Add-on board (volume wheel, usb port and 2 back buttons).
I got nearly everything I need, and I already sanded the shell to house the screen and its bracket.

I'm pretty sure I also need to sand down some things in the back of the shell, but can't figure what. I tried looking online and on this forum, but most "guides" i found were about making room for the screen.

Do you have a guide, a tutorial, or even an image of what I need to cut/sand ?
Thanks a lot.
French builder !

Jakeup

Re: Shell modifications question

Post by Jakeup » Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:28 pm

Here’s is what tinkerBOY recommends https://www.tinkerboy.xyz/game-boy-dmg- ... ntrollers/

Liathou

Post by Liathou » Thu Jul 11, 2019 1:28 am

Thanks for this link.
Do you know if that would work with the V3 + add-on board ?
My GB Shell took 1 month to be delivered, I don't want to mess it up :D
French builder !

infinitLoop

Post by infinitLoop » Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:49 am

Liathou wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 1:28 am
Thanks for this link.
that link is for the v2 board which has a component mounted in that spot, so, no, technically, you do not have to do that...

really, there is no one answer to how you will need to modify the back case. it depends on the components you use, and how you fit them.