HDMI works, composite doesn't.

Having trouble with your GBZ build? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
pyrd
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:46 pm

HDMI works, composite doesn't.

Post by pyrd » Tue Jul 23, 2019 12:25 am

Hi everybody,

I'm piecing my first GBZ build together to make sure I have a working system before stuffing it into the shell. Although I'm going to use an RP0 for the build, I'm currently using an old RP1 model B as a test mule -- I understand they're mostly similar. The monitor is a BW.

I'm using RetroPie 4.5.1. My config text was copied from this post. I've changed resolution settings and tried changing gpu_mem, but nothing seems to fix the problem, or even change the symptoms.

The problem is when I hook up an HDMI monitor, RetroPie and EmulationStation load and work as expected. When I hook the BW monitor up via composite input, RetroPie boots but EmulationStation doesn't. The errors are:

Code: Select all

lvl0:     Error initializing SDL!

lvl0:     Renderer failed to initialize!
lvl0:     Window failed to initialize!
Google says there's a couple of reasons those errors could pop up, but none of them seem to make sense for my setup because my HDMI connection works just fine. I apologize if this is a known issue or an easy fix -- I couldn't find anything that made sense of this.

Any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
VeteranGamer
Posts: 1698
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:12 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 494 times
Been thanked: 882 times

Re: HDMI works, composite doesn't.

Post by VeteranGamer » Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:57 am

pyrd wrote:
Tue Jul 23, 2019 12:25 am


I'm using RetroPie 4.5.1. My config text was copied from this post. I've changed resolution settings and tried changing gpu_mem, but nothing seems to fix the problem, or even change the symptoms.

The problem is when I hook up an HDMI monitor, RetroPie and EmulationStation load and work as expected. When I hook the BW monitor up via composite input, RetroPie boots but EmulationStation doesn't. The errors are:



Any help would be appreciated.


always know what your downloading.....
and what it is your installing.....
(basically do some research, don't just download and install)

especially if you want to avoid errors/issues...

a good way to do this is to check the primary source....

https://retropie.org.uk/download/

https://retropie.org.uk/2019/07/composi ... ropie-4-5/


RetroPie.jpg
RetroPie.jpg (528.09 KiB) Viewed 308 times

they have work arounds on there



.

pyrd
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:46 pm

Re: HDMI works, composite doesn't.

Post by pyrd » Tue Jul 23, 2019 7:33 am

always know what your downloading.....
and what it is your installing.....
(basically do some research, don't just download and install)

especially if you want to avoid errors/issues...

a good way to do this is to check the primary source....
Glad you brought that up. I downloaded version 4.5.1 from github (here), with the kernel downgrade, not ver. 4.5 on the retropie site.

Maybe it's a version issue, I dunno. But because composite out works initially (just not with EmulatinStation), I was hoping it was an issue other people were seeing too.

User avatar
VeteranGamer
Posts: 1698
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:12 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 494 times
Been thanked: 882 times

Re: HDMI works, composite doesn't.

Post by VeteranGamer » Tue Jul 23, 2019 9:30 am

Personally I’d scrap version 4.5 for now

And just stick to 4.4
Your gonna be using a Pi0, it’s not gonna matter much which version it is....
(Apart from one that isn’t providing a reliable composite output)



.

pyrd
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:46 pm

Re: HDMI works, composite doesn't.

Post by pyrd » Tue Jul 23, 2019 11:34 pm

Thanks for the help. Moved to version 4.4, works just fine now.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest