OpenGL on Circuit Sword

Post Reply
Dukana
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:45 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 29 times

OpenGL on Circuit Sword

Post by Dukana » Wed May 30, 2018 4:49 pm

I know this is incredibly dumb, but I want to run the Mesa 3D Open GL drivers on my Circuit Sword. The issue is with the line in config.txt

dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d

With this enabled, the screen doesn't work. If I comment it out, it boots fine. With it enabled, I can SSH in to the device, so I know it's running, but not displaying properly.

Please help!

User avatar
kite
Posts: 952
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 242 times
Been thanked: 332 times
Contact:

Re: OpenGL on Circuit Sword

Post by kite » Thu May 31, 2018 2:06 am

I've never done this before, however quick googling shows similar issues when doing with HDMI (did you try HDMI too?).

From a github issue it appears they fixed something in the 'stretch' image (which the current available image for CSO is not). In the coming weeks I will be making a stretch image so it would be a good idea to test then :) if you can get it working on a regular pi3, please detail the steps and i'll see if there's anything that I need to do. The CSO drives the LCD directly via special config, hopefully the opengl stuff doesn't ignore that..

jamisnemo
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:42 pm

Re: OpenGL on Circuit Sword

Post by jamisnemo » Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:33 pm

I'm waiting for the last bits to complete my build but I am also heavily interested in running OpenGL ES on the Circuit Sword. It would be great to know more about what the current limitation is.

The standard rasp-config tool allows you to enable OpenGL ES on standard Raspbian pretty easily. There are OpenGL ES examples are somewhere under /opt that should compile okay pretty much out of the box as well.

EriolGaurhoth
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:07 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: OpenGL on Circuit Sword

Post by EriolGaurhoth » Mon Nov 12, 2018 2:09 pm

Not sure what the status on this is, but I haven't been able to get the OpenGL drivers to work, either the real or "fake" versions to run using Kite's latest image. The real drivers just give me a black screen, whereas the fake driver boots to command line but won't run emulationstation. Just thought I'd chime in as someone else who made the attempt.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest