Freeze after a couple of seconds

Post Reply
ZeroB
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 3:06 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Freeze after a couple of seconds

Post by ZeroB » Sat Jun 29, 2019 2:09 am

Hi Guys,

I am a bit new to this, but I finished my project know completely.
The problem is, when I switch my Boy on, it boots up normally, but after a while it freezes (seconds, maybe 20-30). It happens normally when I try to setup the button configuration, or maybe in a another state. As faster I am, the more buttons I can setup. To switch it off, I have to pull out the battery.
Is there a short somewhere or something else !?
Hope someone can help.

And sorry, English is not my nativ language.

McGyver
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:06 am
Location: Tianjin / China
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: Freeze after a couple of seconds

Post by McGyver » Sat Jun 29, 2019 7:46 am

You should try to reload the raspberry image.
Or: use another SD card
Or: did you changed any overclocking settings inside of config.txt?
This could be at worst a faulty raspberry!

User avatar
kite
Posts: 881
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 227 times
Been thanked: 297 times
Contact:

Re: Freeze after a couple of seconds

Post by kite » Mon Jul 01, 2019 6:48 am

Is it the CS Lite, or the CS with the CM3? Does the Pi get hot during boot up?

ZeroB
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 3:06 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Freeze after a couple of seconds

Post by ZeroB » Tue Jul 02, 2019 4:10 am

Hi Kite,
you remember me … its the board (CS CM3)you had in your hands a couple of days/week ago (Bastian from Germany). You Setup everything (you Changed the Pi3 CM3, updated the Ardunio) . The only Change I made in the Settings, was setting the Resolution to 640 x 480 and solder the Bridge on the board for the boost of the Display.
I will check later if its getting hot on boot up. But I mean, its getting hot.

Thanks

ZeroB
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 3:06 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Freeze after a couple of seconds

Post by ZeroB » Tue Jul 02, 2019 4:03 pm

So... it’s getting warm to hot after about 2-3 Minutes. I can still touch the heatsink, but in my opinion it’s very warm for doing nothing than freeze.
I didn’t solder the Fan for now, is it because of that, I think no, or !?

User avatar
kite
Posts: 881
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 227 times
Been thanked: 297 times
Contact:

Re: Freeze after a couple of seconds

Post by kite » Wed Jul 03, 2019 2:30 am

If you don't have it inside a case/enclosure, does it still do this?

ZeroB
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 3:06 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Freeze after a couple of seconds

Post by ZeroB » Wed Jul 03, 2019 5:11 pm

Ok ... it’s doing the same, but I think it’s not getting this hot outside of the shell, maybe it was the same before.
But I figured out that it’s not freezing befor I try to setup the buttons.
Emulation Station setup says „Hold a button to start“ ... in this State it won’t freeze, I can reply this (hold a button) and Release before the Message with the Arduino etc disappeared. Only after a while it freezes, when I try to setup the buttons. Maybe there is something wrong with the Arduino ?!
I don’t know🤕

User avatar
kite
Posts: 881
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 227 times
Been thanked: 297 times
Contact:

Re: Freeze after a couple of seconds

Post by kite » Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:21 am

Do you have another SD that you are able to try? And to confirm you are using the right image specifically for the Circuit Sword (not the Lite)?

ZeroB
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 3:06 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Freeze after a couple of seconds

Post by ZeroB » Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:50 pm

I put a fresh Image on the stick and now it’s working😎👍🏼... thank you.
Back to the temperature, is it normal that without Fan the temperature is always around 60 Celsius ?

User avatar
kite
Posts: 881
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:30 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 227 times
Been thanked: 297 times
Contact:

Re: Freeze after a couple of seconds

Post by kite » Fri Jul 05, 2019 3:00 am

Ok cool, perhaps there was something wrong with that SD, keep an eye on it on your new one and let me know if it changes!

60*C is fine, no issues there

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest