Top layers not printing right

Need help with or have a question about your 3d printer? Ask it here!
Post Reply
User avatar
goodBEan
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:06 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Top layers not printing right

Post by goodBEan » Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:54 am

I don't know what this is called or what the source of the problem is, but when I print in abs the last couple of layers are not printing right. I would see holes or gabs in the last couple of layers.
Image
Image

Also attached is my ABS profile from octopriint
Attachments
curaprofile-abs-v3.zip
(1.68 KiB) Downloaded 40 times

User avatar
YaYa
Posts: 1719
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:42 pm
Location: brittany - France
Has thanked: 871 times
Been thanked: 688 times
Contact:

Re: Top layers not printing right

Post by YaYa » Sat Jun 23, 2018 2:35 pm

Looks like underextrusion and not enough cooling but i may be wrong. I am new to 3D printing so take what i say with gloves :mrgreen:
Follow me on instagram Image

User avatar
wermy
Site Admin
Posts: 1340
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 609 times
Been thanked: 1317 times
Contact:

Re: Top layers not printing right

Post by wermy » Sat Jun 23, 2018 2:54 pm

What are you using to slice your model? You may just need to add a few more solid top layers.
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
goodBEan
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:06 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Top layers not printing right

Post by goodBEan » Sat Jun 23, 2018 4:22 pm

I am using the slicer built into octopi.
http://docs.octoprint.org/en/master/bun ... /cura.html

I looked through the slicer profiles and don't see anything for top/bottom layers counts

User avatar
wermy
Site Admin
Posts: 1340
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 609 times
Been thanked: 1317 times
Contact:

Re: Top layers not printing right

Post by wermy » Sat Jun 23, 2018 4:34 pm

You may want to download the desktop version of cura and try slicing with that (octoprint uses the cura engine for slicing but you don't have nearly as much control over it). You'll be able to tweak all kinds of things, including how many top solid layers there are.
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
goodBEan
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:06 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Top layers not printing right

Post by goodBEan » Sat Jun 23, 2018 5:17 pm

I thinking the slicer is missing some options. A while back I had to go into the text editor to make adjustments to the profiles for supports.

Luckly for me there is an octoprint plugin I can use.

User avatar
goodBEan
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:06 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Top layers not printing right

Post by goodBEan » Mon Jun 25, 2018 6:42 pm

I am liking this slicer, real nice. The thing is I am still in the testing phase. I finally got the new setup tuned so that cura is working with my duplicator properly (last issue was the diamater).

Initially I avoided it because I thought it would only work on ultramaker machines

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest