David's #1 Gameboy (Pi3, Dual analog, Neopixel)[Update#3 Animated Neopixel charge status]

Show off your completed Game Boy Zero, or post your build logs here!
dbak85

David's #1 Gameboy (Pi3, Dual analog, Neopixel)[Update#3 Animated Neopixel charge status]

Post by dbak85 » Mon May 08, 2017 4:35 am

Hi,

I just Thought I would share my project that is almost done. This is my first attempt at a Gameboy (Although I have some experience with electronics and 'Modding'). My first requirements for the project would be that I could play n64 and Psx games as these are the games I grew up with and the ones that left the most impression on me as a young'un. This of course meant a Pi3 was necessary.

Parts / Features:
Pi 3
Dual Psp Analog sticks
Teensy usb controller
@Camble's auto shutdown switch
Powerboost 1000c
Sparkfun amplifier with volume control and headphone jack
Neopixel status led (for some colour and animations :D)

I started this project in an unusual way, normally you would buy everything and make it fit. I started with the shell, then added buttons and built from there, improvising as I went (Don't do this kids). It turned out pretty well all things considered.

It begins :
begins.jpg
begins.jpg (80.79 KiB) Viewed 12066 times
The first thing I wanted is to add a black cartridge. I had already decided that I needed a black one to fit the yellow theme of the case.
I found a really cheap game on Ebay (Ridge Racers I think). I tried to save the game, but the screw got suck (Rusted from storage) so I had to pry it open and the pcb did not survive. :cry: . Ah well it was for a good cause.
cart.jpg
cart.jpg (53.26 KiB) Viewed 12066 times
I picked a few templates online and created a custom cartridge sticker that I added to give a more custom feel and then stuck it in place with some glue and ground out the back of the cartridge with a Dremel to give me that extra space in the shell for all the components.
cart-in.jpg
cart-in.jpg (60.55 KiB) Viewed 12066 times