For me, i had to restart the Pi with the HDMI connected before i turned it on. But my wiring seems to be odd, so it might only affect me this way.BMBteke397 wrote:So, possible dumb question. If you use the USB audio would that bypass the HDMI audio if you decide to plug your Gameboy Zero into a TV? Would it still force the audio out through the Speaker or headphones instead of out to the TV?
How-to: Use USB Audio in Retropie v3.7
- Fleder
- Posts: 849
- Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 9:04 am
- Location: Germany
- Has thanked: 183 times
- Been thanked: 258 times
Re: How-to: Use USB Audio in Retropie v3.7
-
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 1:00 am
- Location: Windsor, UK
- Has thanked: 12 times
- Been thanked: 5 times
Re: How-to: Use USB Audio in Retropie v3.7
anyone else having problems with USB audio?
followed the guide, and my USB device is shown as default but, launching ROMs results in it bombing out to rom list with an error message saying 'failed to find mixer elements'
followed the guide, and my USB device is shown as default but, launching ROMs results in it bombing out to rom list with an error message saying 'failed to find mixer elements'
- tronicgr
- Posts: 143
- Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:26 pm
- Has thanked: 95 times
- Been thanked: 67 times
- Contact:
Re: How-to: Use USB Audio in Retropie v3.7
drlbradley wrote:anyone else having problems with USB audio?
followed the guide, and my USB device is shown as default but, launching ROMs results in it bombing out to rom list with an error message saying 'failed to find mixer elements'
Look here how to remove that message. Not easy way.
https://github.com/Aloshi/EmulationStation/issues/433
Thanks
Thanos
-
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 1:00 am
- Location: Windsor, UK
- Has thanked: 12 times
- Been thanked: 5 times
- Fleder
- Posts: 849
- Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 9:04 am
- Location: Germany
- Has thanked: 183 times
- Been thanked: 258 times
Re: How-to: Use USB Audio in Retropie v3.7
For easier access and backup, i will post the solution here.
jcoutch wrote:Assuming you've already set the USB sound card as the default in Alsa, you should be able to do the following:
Open up a terminal prompt, and run:
amixer -l
Note the name of your mixer. Mine was named "Speaker".
Now run:
git clone https://github.com/Aloshi/EmulationStation.git
nano EmulationStation/es-app/src/VolumeControl.cpp
Change line 8 from:
const char * VolumeControl::mixerName = "PCM";
to match the name of your mixer ("Speaker" in my case):
const char * VolumeControl::mixerName = "Speaker";
Press Ctrl+O and Enter to save the file, then Ctrl+X to exit Nano.
Then, follow the instructions for building the code from the main Github page:
sudo apt-get install libsdl2-dev libboost-system-dev libboost-filesystem-dev libboost-date-time-dev libboost-locale-dev libfreeimage-dev libfreetype6-dev libeigen3-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev libasound2-dev libgl1-mesa-dev build-essential cmake fonts-droid
cd EmulationStation
cmake .
make
make install
Restart Emulation Station, and now you should be able to control your volume.
-
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 1:00 am
- Location: Windsor, UK
- Has thanked: 12 times
- Been thanked: 5 times
Re: How-to: Use USB Audio in Retropie v3.7
anyone wanting/needing to do this, just be aware that it takes 2-3 hrs to compile EmulatationStation on the PiZero. I don't have my error anymore thoughFleder wrote:For easier access and backup, i will post the solution here.
jcoutch wrote:Assuming you've already set the USB sound card as the default in Alsa, you should be able to do the following:
Open up a terminal prompt, and run:
amixer -l
Note the name of your mixer. Mine was named "Speaker".
Now run:
git clone https://github.com/Aloshi/EmulationStation.git
nano EmulationStation/es-app/src/VolumeControl.cpp
Change line 8 from:
const char * VolumeControl::mixerName = "PCM";
to match the name of your mixer ("Speaker" in my case):
const char * VolumeControl::mixerName = "Speaker";
Press Ctrl+O and Enter to save the file, then Ctrl+X to exit Nano.
Then, follow the instructions for building the code from the main Github page:
sudo apt-get install libsdl2-dev libboost-system-dev libboost-filesystem-dev libboost-date-time-dev libboost-locale-dev libfreeimage-dev libfreetype6-dev libeigen3-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev libasound2-dev libgl1-mesa-dev build-essential cmake fonts-droid
cd EmulationStation
cmake .
make
make install
Restart Emulation Station, and now you should be able to control your volume.

- wermy
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1346
- Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 8:51 pm
- Has thanked: 620 times
- Been thanked: 1322 times
- Contact:
Re: How-to: Use USB Audio in Retropie v3.7
Maybe someone feeling generous/bored could do this and get it set up, and then create a backup of their SD card image? Then others could just restore that backup to an SD card and be good to go.drlbradley wrote: anyone wanting/needing to do this, just be aware that it takes 2-3 hrs to compile EmulatationStation on the PiZero. I don't have my error anymore thoughAnd I get audio from the EmulationStation UI, now to just figure out how to get audio from the emulators..

- Fleder
- Posts: 849
- Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 9:04 am
- Location: Germany
- Has thanked: 183 times
- Been thanked: 258 times
Re: How-to: Use USB Audio in Retropie v3.7
It took me 2 1/2 hours.
I am writing an image from the SD now and we will see how big it is.
Edit: 15GB. So not really a viable option.
I think compiling for 2 1/2 hours or downloading 15GB is a tie, especially if you consider that your device has to be "Speaker", too.
Or else it will not work.
I am writing an image from the SD now and we will see how big it is.
Edit: 15GB. So not really a viable option.
I think compiling for 2 1/2 hours or downloading 15GB is a tie, especially if you consider that your device has to be "Speaker", too.
Or else it will not work.
-
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 1:00 am
- Location: Windsor, UK
- Has thanked: 12 times
- Been thanked: 5 times
Re: How-to: Use USB Audio in Retropie v3.7
Let me know if you get audio out of the emulators. I can get audio from emulationstation Ui, but not from any emulators
- Fleder
- Posts: 849
- Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 9:04 am
- Location: Germany
- Has thanked: 183 times
- Been thanked: 258 times
Re: How-to: Use USB Audio in Retropie v3.7
Could you try the following, please?:drlbradley wrote:Let me know if you get audio out of the emulators. I can get audio from emulationstation Ui, but not from any emulators
Create the .asoundrc file. Which should not exist.
Code: Select all
sudo nano .asoundrc
Code: Select all
pcm.PCM {
type hw
card 0
device 0
}
Code: Select all
sudo reboot
But as Alsamixer is looking for PCM, this causes it to ignore that one.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest